I won an Oscar

Act like the person you want to become

It's a beautiful Monday, Friend.

Consider this for the new week:

Act like the person you want to become.

Some people read that as "fake it until you make it"

but that's not the case at all.

Faking it is bullshitting your way to the top.

Lying to others and to yourself.

This type of acting isn’t the Brad Pitt kind, playing the role of someone you’re not in a movie.

Instead, it means moving with a clear intention and thinking about your future self.

It's doing the things to support and build the best version of you.

It's acting in such a way that the person you look up to would act.

It's constantly reminding yourself:

What would the greatest version of me do in this situation? 

Live in the present as if your future has already become a reality.

Work the hours of the person you want to become.

Train like the person you want to become. 

Invest like the person you want to become.

You see, you can't get to that endpoint unless move toward that endpoint.

If you constantly push things to the side for your future self to deal with, you're delaying your growth.

Read this quote from the IBM founder, Thomas J. Watson...

IBM is what it is today for three special reasons.

The first reason is that, at the very beginning, I had a very clear picture of what the company would look like when it was finally done.

You might say I had a model in my mind of what it would look like when the dream—my vision—was in place.

The second reason was that once I had that picture, I then asked myself how a company that looked like that would have to act.

I then created a picture of how IBM would act when it was finally done.

The third reason IBM has been so successful was that once I had a picture of how IBM would look when the dream was in place and how such a company would have to act, I then realized that, unless we began to act that way from the very beginning, we would never get there.

In other words, I realized that for IBM to become a great company it would have to act like a great company long before it ever became one.

Did you get that last sentence?

You must act like a great company or person long before you ever become one.

A visionary is somebody who is shaping their future.

They're not thinking about what they want now but instead what they want most.

Turning down those parties and distractions because you envision your future self and what it takes to get there.

You're living in that reality...

Until it becomes a reality.

That's how you win.

Much love,

Mason from New Mentalities